Beef ‘kung pao’ noodle bowl

I am admittedly obsessed with Asian foods. I could eat chow meins, steamed rice and veggies, general tso’s, sushi, stir fries…every day for the rest of my life. Honestly. I love the saltiness of soy sauce, and the way spice is used in Asian cooking appeals to me. I have a higher tolerance for Asian spiciness. (Jay has a higher tolerance for Mexican type spice). If I could travel anywhere just to eat (that’s why Jay and I travel anyway) I would go somewhere Asian. I know and understand that the types of foods I eat in the US and are Asian to me are a far cry from true Asian foods, but I know that the flavor profiles are similar, more subtle, and fresh. We have tried other recipes before like our version of a Hot & Sour Soup, but there is nothing that can compare to the deliciousness of Hot & Sour Soup from Blue Ginger, our favorite sushi joint. To keep my Asian cravings contained, I bought a kung pao noodle kit. It has a sauce packet, soba noodles, and ideas for ad-ins.

 

Beef Kung Pao Noodle Bowl

Makes about 3 servings

For this recipe you will need:

Soba Noodles, cooked, rinsed, and drained.

2 carrots, sliced into thin, ‘matchstick’ sizes.

2 celery stalks, sliced into thin, ‘matchstick sizes.

About 1/2cup green beans (we used frozen green beans that we blanched and froze from leftover green beans from our Dilly Beans recipe).

Kung Poa sauce, premade (or a homemade sauce like this one).

About 1/2cup beef (we had leftover NY strip from a sale at Whole Foods, this is a great way to make a really good cut of meat last a long time.) sliced into thin strips.

Prep

Cut and slice carrots, set aside.

Cut and slice celery and set aside.

Cut beef into strips and set aside.

Cook

Cook Noodles, rinse and drain, set aside.

Cook, carrots and celery until soft, set aside.

Sear beef, set aside.

Combine all ingredients and sauce, heat through, serve and enjoy!

This recipe is super easy, and the sauce wasn’t as spicy as I had hoped so I added a little extra chili-garlic sauce. Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

