Healthy? Chocolate Cake

I’d like to say this is a healthy recipe but it probably isn’t considering I will more than likely have half the cake. It seems semi-healthy because of the addition of yogurt and sour cream to moisten the cake instead of butter or oil (I’ve heard of people using the applesauce trick in chocolate cake but it kind of creeped me out). This recipe was tested by my friend Katharyne, Jay, and I and I’d say it deserved 3 stars because it was a little on the dry side. I mean, really, how good could a cake without butter taste?

This is not only an attempt to be a little healthier but also my effort to use the items in our pantry. I’m becoming quite good at this task. Today I made ‘carrot cake’ pancakes because we had tons of carrots. They turned out pretty well and I used a combo of plain yogurt and skim milk because I didn’t have buttermilk. Anyways, back to the chocolate:

– 1 cup flour
– 1/2 T baking powder
– 1/4 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 cup plain yogurt (I actually used strawberry because it’s all I had, who doesn’t love chocolate and strawberries?)
– 3 T unsweetened cocoa powder
– 2 squares semi-sweet bakers chocolate
– 1/4 cup sour cream
– 1 egg
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1 teaspoon of vanilla

20120310-185929.jpg

Cream melted butter and sugar until smooth, add egg and vanilla and beat just until smooth. Fold in yogurt and sour cream.

20120310-185938.jpg

Add all dry ingredients (flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder) and mix until just combined.
Melt chocolate squares and fold into mix.

Bake @ 375 for 20-25 minutes!

20120310-185943.jpg

Enjoy!

20120324-202057.jpg

2 thoughts on “Healthy? Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

