4 Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

I made a quick recipe tonight from one of my new favorite blogs, Dessert for Two. I have encountered the same problem over and over again in my love for making sweets: I am only cooking for two people. While Jay and I have been able to conquer an entire batch of cookies by ourselves it kind of disgusts me that we do. Also, I like a variety of foods and I get really burnt out after eating a million chocolate chip cookies because I don’t want to throw them away. I know, tough life.

My solution is to make desserts on a much smaller scale. The great thing is that I can try more than one recipe per week.

Red Velvet Cupcakes adapted from Dessert for Two

For the cupcakes:

1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons buttermilk
1 egg white
1 teaspoon red food coloring (feel free to ditch the coloring if you would like brown velvet cupcakes)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon lemon juice (or distiller white vinegar)
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon flour
2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt

For the frosting:

5 tablespoons cream cheese, softened
1 tablespoon butter, at room temperature
6 tablespoons powdered sugar
About 1 teaspoon milk (add until you like the consistency)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix

1. In a cupcake tin, place 4 cupcake liners on the outside edge.

2. Beat canola oil, sugar, buttermilk, egg white, red dye, vinegar, and vanilla using an electric mixer.

3. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing all the while.

Bake
Divide the batter between the four cupcake liners and bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes.
Cool completely on a wire rack.

Frost
Beat together all icing ingredients using an electric mixer. Frost cupcakes when cool. Dust with cocoa powder before serving, if desired.

20120716-191503.jpg

Leave a Reply

