Small Batch Chocolate Chip Cookies

Today I stared sewing to reupholster a chair that Jay and I got for free from his parents (thanks guys!). I’ve had this sewing machine for almost a year but this is the first time I’ve taken it out of the box. I know, it’s sad! It is gorgeous and apparently does tons of stitches. Here is the before version of the chair, the fabric I am using and the sewing machine.

20120720-230040.jpg

20120720-230054.jpg

Looks great right? Well I got stressed out during the first part of this project where I attempted to sew a cover for the bottom cushion (which isn’t removable because the chair reclines) and gave up for tonight. I sewed the edges and one corner that looks great and I was really happy with the way it fit. Then I couldn’t figure out how I made the first corner and sewed another one that looks different! Ha! This is going to be a learning process.

Anyways, what better way to wind down from a stressful situation than homemade goodies? I made another recipe from Dessert for Two (for the second time) and I couldn’t be happier with the results. These cookies are gooey and chewy and slightly crisp and salty. AND this small batch recipe is perfect because it yields only 12 cookies (supposedly 12 cookies if you don’t sneak a taste of the dough!).

Chocolate Chip Cookies as adapted from Dessert for Two

Makes 12 cookies

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup light brown sugar
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons flour
1/8 teaspoon fine salt
1/8 teaspoon Starbucks via vanilla flavor coffee (if not using coffee or espresso powder add 3/4 tsp vanilla)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Mix

In a medium bowl, cream the butter, shortening, brown sugar and granulated sugar together. Beat very well, about 45 seconds. Add the egg yolk and beat just until combined.

20120720-233146.jpg

Add instant coffee, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Mix for less than 5 seconds.

Slowly add in flour, just until combined.

Stir in chocolate chips with spatula.

Bake

Make 12 dough balls (roll them in your hand or use cookie scoop), space them evenly on the cookie sheet and bake for 8-9 minutes.

20120720-233229.jpg

Enjoy

20120720-233235.jpg

Leave a Reply

