Reupholstered Reclining Wingback Chair

Jay and I got this lovely Reclining Wingback Chair from his parents. While it wasn’t actually that bad looking we wanted a statement piece and something to go with our new end tables. The process was rough. I would recommend to anyone who values their hands and time to really, really think about how badly they want to do a project like this on their own. Removing the fabric from the chair requires the removal of thousands (really) of staples. I used a flathead screwdriver and rocked it back and forth to loosen the staple, then pulled each one out with pliers. Oh and don’t forget that for every staple removed, you will have to put a new one in and my staple gun bruised my hand.

*This project took 8 yards of fabric and eleventy-billion staples.

The Process:

8 thoughts on “Reupholstered Reclining Wingback Chair

  1. Thank you so much! You did a great job. I have one that I’m working on and i have about 9 yards of 54 inch fabric to work with.

    1. Good luck! It is the hardest project O’ve ever attempted. Lots of little things I wish I could go back and fix, but overall I am very happy with it. I would love to see a picture of yours when you are finished!

  2. Sure! I’ll make sure to take pics before, during and after. It might be a while though since I plan on working on it on the weekends.

  3. i have recliner wingback chair i’d like to reupholster, i don’t know how to start can someone please help me out by telling me how to start. thx
    Fabienne

Leave a Reply

